Who knows what could be growing in there…..

Dear Viewers,

I’m embarrassed to admit this, but my car is a disgusting mess.  I drive a Lincoln Navigator and it is the “family car”, “mommy mobile”, whatever you want to call it.  I love this vehicle, and when I first got it two years ago, I was bound and determined to keep it spotless. There would be no eating or drinking! No dirty shoes kicking the back seat! No sticky fingers on arm rests! Nothing of the sort!

Guess how long that lasted? About a month.  I slowly acquiesced…first allowing the kids to drink something, then eat something, now I practically let them make mud pies in the backseat.  

 Then when my son reached under his car seat, pulled out a petrified french fry and ate it, I decided I needed to do something about this. “Mike and Mike” to the rescue. They are a fantastic mobile car wash crew that comes to the station from time to time. I made an appointment for their super-duper detail. 

The guys from Mike and Mike rolled up and took a look inside. I had warned them that what they were about to see was disturbing.  Rather than being disgusted, they were amused – especially by the rock-hard, half-eaten chicken nugget they found under the floor mat. The zip-lock bag filled with doggie kibble was hysterical as well. 

 Then there’s the black mark on the bumper from when I backed into someone’s truck.  This is no easy feat considering the car beeps if there’s an object behind you when you’re backing up. The closer you get to it, the faster it beeps – until it’s one continuous tone screaming at you “stop you idiot!”  Somehow I missed that.

 Anyway, I had no idea what to expect, but three hours after working their magic and I feel like I have a new car.  It’s spotless and shiny and smells heavenly. And miracle of miracles, the black smudge is gone!

 So I’m back to being the car nazi. Kids, don’t even THINK about eating those crackers in the backseat. 

Let’s see how long that lasts…..

Until next time,

Mindy Basara

4 Responses

  1. Hi Mindy,

    First off, I love reading your stories they are hilarious!! This story sounds like my daughters vehicle. I get in her trail blazer and there is food trash blankets toys you name it it’s in there. I ask her when she is going to clean this mess and she replies- I will get to it soon. I am still waiting for that day!! I could never get into a dirty vehicle!! I hope yours stays clean..

    Happy Thanksgiving!!!

    Laurie

  2. Tell your daughter not to feel bad….there are lots of us out their with this problem – other things just seem to take precedence. But even I have a breaking point!

    Happy Thanksgiving to you too…

    PS – If you’re looking for a holiday gift, maybe you could give her a gift certificate for a car wash?

  3. Mindy – funny you should mention that. For my 21st birthday…4 years ago…I bought myself a BRAND NEW Honda Civic. it had 4 yes that’s right FOUR miles on it! I told myself I would clean it all the time, not let anyone eat in it, blah blah blah. about a month or 2 later, I started dating a guy with a toddler and a 3 month old baby at the time. Needless to say, the “not eating in the car” didn’t last. Nothing like red juice being spilled on my tan cloth seats. not to mention ALL of my friends have kids so I kinda let the car go. My car has been “detailed” once & by detail I mean the wet vac was used. & I can’t even take credit for that…my bff did it. My car is black & tends to look gray because it barely ever makes it to the car wash. oh how I wish I was still in the frame of mind I was in when I first bought my car. 😦

    • Jessica,
      I know what you mean. It’s just hard to make cleaning your car a priority when you have so much else going on. I wish there were a car cleaning fairy.

Leave a comment